Hope-a belief in a positive outcome related to events and circumstances in one’s life.

What started out as a prank on the internet has now turned into something that has totally warmed my heart.  Pulling a The David Cook for Charity Prank which is that we all pick a charity and we get to bring awareness to their mission.

At first I was all, I don’t even have a charity and then I remembered I have a friend on facebook, Shannon Vagge Cox, who started her own charity when her sister-in-law had struggled with cancer and insurance.  Her charity is The Rocky Mountain Foundation of Hope.

Rocky Mountain Foundation of Hope (RMH) proudly provides financial and emotional support for all cancer patients who are underinsured or have been denied the necessary care by their insurance company and to help fund cancer research. 

Jewely, a 4th grade elementary school teacher in Littleton, Colorado, was diagnosed in early 2008 with stage 4 colon cancerYou can click here to learn more about Jewely, Shannon’s sister-in-law who’s plight to get her procedures covered is what ignited the flame to start The Rocky Mountain Foundation of Hope to help others who struggle to get their insurance companies to pay when they are sick.

I find it so admirable that in a time when Jewely and Shannon and their families could have sat back and been upset and angry and frustrated they instead decided to do something about it.  The Rocky Mountain Foundation of Hope will be hosting an Art for Hope fundraiser at teh end of this month and I hope they are able to raise a ton of money!  And maybe that is why I want to do this, there have been times I have seen Shannon post messages about upcoming events with The Rocky Mountain Foundation of Hope, and I have thought man I sure do wish I had the money to be able to donate.  So since I can’t do that I want to do this and hopefully bring some more awareness to The Rocky Mountain Foundation of Hope, and let it help others and possibly even inspire someone to start their own charity. 

Make lemonade out of lemons!

“The feeling of hopefulness sometimes comes from someone helping us. Think back to a time when you had lost hope. Many times we regained our optimism because someone gave us a helping hand.”
Catherine Pulsifer, from Poem for Hope

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

